• Home
  • Mortar Board announces Outstanding Educator Awards

Mortar Board announces Outstanding Educator Awards

Wednesday, December 02, 2015

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas chapter of Mortar Board, a national honor society for college seniors, recently selected five faculty members to receive Outstanding Educator Awards. The recipients were announced at the Dec. 1 men's basketball game against Loyola University in Allen Fieldhouse.

This year's Mortar Board Outstanding Educators:

  • Yu Mi Ahn, chemistry lecturer
  • Ronald Borchardt, Summerfield Distinguished Professor (Emeritus) of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Michelle Heffner Hayes, professor and chair of the Department of Dance
  • Stephen Ilardi, associate professor of psychology
  • Sarah Kieweg, associate professor of mechanical engineering.

Mortar Board members select Outstanding Educators for their devotion to academia, teaching style, accessibility, knowledge of their subject and other special qualities unique to the educator.

Mortar Board membership is based on distinguished achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. KU’s Torch chapter became part of Mortar Board in 1924, making it one of the oldest collegiate chapters of the national honor society.  

Connect with the College
Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times