• Home
  • Political science department announces awards, scholarships

Political science department announces awards, scholarships

Friday, May 22, 2015

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Political Science Department honored its top students at its Recognition Ceremony, with awards and induction into Pi Sigma Alpha last month at the Adams Alumni Center.

Eighteen students were inducted into the Gamma chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society. Criteria for induction include a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in all political science courses with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.4 for undergraduates. For graduate students, the average must be at least 3.5. Neither may have a course grade lower than a B in any political science course.

These students were inducted:

  • Ranya Ahmed from Columbia, Missouri
  • Sammy Badran from Eden Prairie, Minnesota
  • Madeline Bjorklun from Lenexa
  • Monique Brigham from Bolingbrook, Illinois
  • Chris Carey from Westwood Hills
  • Kaitlyn DeYoung from Wichita
  • Hunter Goh from Bakersfield, California
  • Sara Goudge from Westminster, Colorado
  • Emma Halling from Elkhart, Indiana
  • Ashley Hart from Kansas City, Kansas
  • Luke Herrington from Kansas City, Missouri
  • Chris Higginbotham from Alexandria, Virginia
  • Johnny McFarland from Hutchinson
  • Ryan Ott from Neoga, Illinois
  • Hsin-Yi Pan from Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Sierra Reicheneker from Lee’s Summit, Missouri
  • Benjamin Rogers from Maryville, Missouri
  • Alina Zheng from Lawrence.

The political science department provides cash awards with no restrictions and scholarships that provide tuition assistance. The awards and scholarships presented:


The Ethan P. Allen Pi Sigma Alpha Award to outstanding graduating seniors majoring in political science. The recipients:

  • Amanda Gress, senior from Overland Park
  • Abigail Naudet, senior from Lake Ozark, Missouri


The Emmett L. Bennett Scholarship to an outstanding junior majoring in political science. The recipients:

  • Shegufta Huma, junior from Bel Aire
  • Owen MacDonald, junior from Overland Park
  • Laura Bilsborrow, junior from Chesterfield, Missouri
  • Nico Mendoza, junior from Maize
  • Brittany Bodenheimer, junior from Topeka


The Eldon Fields Pi Sigma Alpha Award goes to outstanding graduating student majoring in political science. The recipients:

  • Nicolas Ball, senior from West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Emily Jo Taylor, senior from Silver Lake


The Elizabeth and Carl Gustafson Scholarships, ranging from $350 to $400, are issued to outstanding political science undergraduates. The recipients:

  • Jesse Burbank, junior from Topeka
  • Alex Chartrand, senior from Overland Park
  • Garrison Matthews, sophomore from Overland Park
  • Megan Peat, sophomore from Lenexa
  • Madeleine Bryce, junior from Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Aurelie Gagnet, junior from Valflaunes, France
  • Cody Christensen, junior from Topeka
  • Nicole Humphrey, junior from Lawrence
  • Caleb Bobo, junior from Ballwin, Missouri
  • Claire MacLachlan, junior from Prairie Village
  • Jacob Reinig, senior from Overland Park
  • Victoria Purvis, senior from Weskan
  • Nicole Richardson, senior from Silver Lake
  • Campbell Gatehouse, senior from Orono, Minnesota
  • Thomas Leonard, senior from Leawood
  • Lyle Harte, senior from Overland Park
  • Emma Halling, junior from Elkhart, Indiana


The Allan J. Cigler Academic Enrichment Award was presented in the amount of $1,500. This fund is made possible by former students of Professor Cigler who wished to recognize him for his continued academic service. The recipient:

  • Nicolas Ball, senior from West Des Moines, Iowa


The Political Science Future Military Leaders Scholarship is awarded to political science majors participating in ROTC. This fund is possible by the generosity of Roberto Montoya. The winner:

  • Alexander Green, sophomore from Hays


The Walter Thompson Scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $5,000, are awarded to deserving political science students. The recipients:

  • Ranya Ahmed from Columbia
  • Luke Herrington from Kansas City, Missouri
  • Benjamin Rogers from Maryville, Missouri
  • Brian Turnbull from Tampa, Florida
  • Brittnee Carter from South Haven, Michigan
  • Sara Goudge from Westminster, Colorado
  • Ryan Daugherty from Anderson, Indiana
  • Carolina Costa Candal from Lawrence


The Political Science Faculty Award is given to those students who have nearly completed or have completed an honors thesis with a faculty member. Those students:

  • Campbell Gatehouse from Orono, Minnesota
  • Emily Jo Taylor from Silver Lake
  • Alli McKinnon from Overland Park
  • Allison Morte from Lawrence
  • Hsin-Yi Pan from Tulsa, Oklahoma

All of the scholarship funds are managed by KU Endowment, the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

Connect with the College
Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times