• Home
  • September 2014 faculty and staff kudos

September 2014 faculty and staff kudos

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Three staff members from the College were selected as 2014-'15 Staff Fellows: Keah Cunningham, assistant director, Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center; Joel Hood, finance manager, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences-Shared Service Center; and Anne Wallen, assistant director, University Honors Program. The Staff Fellows Program provide opportunities to take part in a structured program of professional development that includes skill and leadership development, and the opportunity to gain broader knowledge of the university. The program also provides the opportunity to work with a mentor to broaden the knowledge and experience of each Staff Fellow. 

Dorothy Daley, associate professor of public affairs and administration, is a recipient of a National Science Foundation grant that will fund a three-year study on state and local climate risk governance. 

The Project on the History of Black Writing, founded and directed by University Distinguished Professor of English Maryemma Graham, recently received its 15th National Endowment for the Humanities grant in the project's more than 30-year history. The $156,000 grant will fund a second institute in 2015, Black Poetry after the Black Arts Movement, as part of its special series, Don't Deny My Voice, which received initial NEH funding in 2012.In addition to the study of African-American poetry written in the last 50 years, the grant will fund a 2015 institute on campus from July 19 to Aug. 1, 2015, in which 25 college and university teachers – known as NEH Summer Scholars — from across the country will study with residential and visiting faculty.

Jonathan Lamb, an assistant professor of English, received one of the highest awards for teaching at KU. Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little presented Lamb with the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award at the annual KU Teaching Summit on Aug. 21. The award includes a one-time stipend of $5,000. Faculty members are nominated for this annual award by deans, department chairs or faculty colleagues. 

Joe Meinecke, Art/Design Lab specialist in the Department of Visual Art, was named one of the KU Employees of the Month in August. Meinecke Meinecke oversees the daily operations of the ceramic and sculpture areas for the Department of Visual Art. He works side-by-side with staff from Facilities Services when they come onsite to fix a problem. He also works in tandem with instructors to demonstrate techniques, and he works with students to build and maintain kilns and other ceramics equipment. 

James Orr, professor in the Department of Molecular Biosciences, was selected as recipient of the 2014 Chancellors Club Career Teaching Award. The distinction is accompanied by a $10,000 award. Orr is one of KU's most lauded teachers, recognized with other distinctions including Kemper Award, the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award and the Michael Y. Young CLAS Advising Award. 

Donn Parson, professor emeritus in the Department of Communication Studies, received the College's 2014 Career Achievement Teaching Award. This $1,000 annual award recognizes a retired faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and has made significant contributions to the profession. Parson has also been selected to receive the 2014 Wallace A. Bacon Lifetime Teaching Excellence Award from the National Communication Association (NCA). The award is given annually to honor outstanding teaching by retired NCA members.

Kris Pedersen, a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Speech-Language-Hearing, has been elected president-elect of the Kansas Speech Language Hearing Association. The KSHA supports audiologists and speech-language pathologists in the state and advocates for persons with communication disorders. 

Jomella Watson-Thompson, assistant professor in the Department of Applied Behavioral Science, was recognized with the annual Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty. The award honors a faculty member who connects his or her teaching, research, and service to community engagement.   

Faculty and staff in the College were recognized as 2014-'15 Women of Distinction by the Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity: Judy Wu, a University Distinguished Professor of Physics, has been recognized with honors including Meredith Docking Scholar, Kemper Fellowship Award, and Higuchi Olin Petefish Award for Basic Science; Addison Keegan-Harris, academic program coordinator for the Kansas Women’s Leadership Institute, is a recent KU graduate with a bachelor's degree in general studies in applied behavioral science and a minor in leadership studies, who was also a 2013 ExCEL Award Finalist and a 2014 Donald K. Alderson Memorial Award recipient.