• Home
  • Mortar Board to honor outstanding faculty, staff in the College

Mortar Board to honor outstanding faculty, staff in the College

Thursday, November 8, 2012

LAWRENCE — A University of Kansas honor society will recognize five faculty and staff members as outstanding educators during an upcoming exhibition basketball game. Three of the honorees are part of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Each year, the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board, a senior honor society, recognizes five instructors for their dedication to KU and their positive influence on students both academically and personally.

The College recipients of the Outstanding Educator award are:

Victoria Corbin, associate professor of molecular biosciences

David McLeod, director of anatomy labs and lecturer in undergraduate biology

Kala Stroup, honors emeritus faculty and internship adviser for the KU Honors Program. Stroup was a member of the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board at KU in 1958-59.

Brandon Rogers, a senior from Plano, Texas, and Jordan Crawford, a senior from Topeka, both Mortar Board members, served as a co-chairs for the awards.

The educators will be honored at halftime of the KU-Southeast Missouri State basketball game on Friday, Nov. 9.

Connect with the College
Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times