• Home
  • November 2014 faculty and staff kudos

November 2014 faculty and staff kudos

Thursday, November 20, 2014
Patrizio Ceccagnoli, assistant professor of Italian, has been named as one of five finalists for the 2014 National Translation Award from the American Literary Translators Association. The winning title will be announced at ALTA’s annual conference in November and the translator will receive a $5,000 honorarium. Ceccagnoli is being recognized for "Theme of Farewell and After-Poems by Milo de Angelis," translated from the Italian by Susan Stewart and Patrizio Ceccagnoli.

Chris Gamblin, associate professor of molecular biosciences, Timothy Jackson, associate professor of chemistry, Mehrangiz Najafizadeh, associate professor of sociology, and Lynn Villafuerte, program coordinator in the Office for Diversity in Science Training, were honored as Outstanding Educators by the Torch Chapter of Mortar Board. Each year this senior honor society recognizes instructors for their dedication to KU and their positive influence on students both academically and personally. The honorees were recognized at halftime at the Nov. 14 KU men's basketball game against UC-Santa Barbara. 


Marc Greenberg, director of the School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures, and Town Peterson, University Distinguished Professor of ecology and evolutionary biology,  were named by KU Libraries as the inaugural recipients of the Shulenburger Award for Innovation and Advocacy in Scholarly Communication. Greenberg and Peterson have been active in exploring and promoting strategies for promoting open access to scholarly publications, both at KU and internationally, in close collaboration with faculty of the KU Libraries. In addition to their advocacy, they have published individual and collaborative research on open access and scholarly communication, contributing to KU’s leadership in open access. The award's namesake, David Shulenburger, served as KU provost and executive vice chancellor for 13 years. KU Libraries recently announced the naming of the Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright in honor of Shulenburger, who championed open access efforts on campus. KU Libraries partnered with faculty in 2009 to make KU the first public university in the United States to adopt a faculty-led open access policy. 


Joshua Rosenbloom, professor of economics, was selected to join the Social Science Advisory Board of the National Center for Women and Information Technology.  The National Center for Women and Information Technology is a non-profit community of more than 575 universities, companies, non-profits, and government organizations nationwide working to increase women’s participation in computing and technology. The 20-member board on which Rosenbloom will serve is an advisory group of social scientists from preeminent institutions nationwide that support the center's initiatives and goals through their knowledge of research and theory at the intersection of women and computing. 


Email clasnews@ku.edu about your or a colleague's awards, honors or distinctions to be included in the next College Kudos.

Connect with the College
Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times