• Home
  • Academics
  • Areas of Study

Areas of Study

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences is the most diverse academic unit at the University of Kansas. With more than 100 major and minor offerings in more than 50 departments, programs and centers, the College offers students the opportunity to learn without boundaries.

Learn more about our offerings, which are focused in five major areas of study.

Divisions of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences




Connect with the College
Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times